Career and Technical Education (CTE)

The State of Hawaii recognizes six Career Pathways, each based on broad groupings of career specialties/occupations that have common skills and knowledge.

Career pathways provide a way for students to explore career options and a framework for linking learning to the skills and knowledge needed for future success.

The six pathways include Arts and Communications, Business, Health Services, Natural Resources, Industrial and Engineering Technology, and Public and Human Services.
As students design their post-high school plans, pathways become useful in the selection of programs of study leading towards post-secondary and career